Nicky Spinks’s latest creation is Bruce’s Crown which starts on Friday 5th April for teams of 4 in the Galloway hills. Think of the High Peak Marathon reincarnated. By all accounts it’s a bit rough underfoot, proper hill country in fact. Details here

Hoppits Hill – Nearer to home the Hoppits Hill races, another of Nicky’s creations, have been taken on by Dewsbury Road Runners and are on Sunday 25th February. Details here

Past races

Ashop Horseshoe – Tom Saville lopped 5 minutes off Tom Brunt’s old course record. Whilst finishing 2nd, Tom Brunt set a new mark for the M50’s as did Greg Rimmer for the M60’s. The Race Organiser (me) started first and finished last. It’s a poor man who…  Results 

Upcoming races

Sunday 28th January – Tigger Tor.

Saturday 3rd February – Margery Hill which is simply one of, if not the best, of the DPFR races. Just do it, you know you want to! That said, it can be a serious undertaking in poor weather so take more kit, including food than you think that you could possibly need. You’ve been warned! Details in the Calendar.

Saturday 10th February – Tour of Bradwell Winter Half.

Sunday 25th February – Doctor’s Gate, a Des Gibbons race from Old Glossop. 12.7 miles with 2,822 feet of climbing which makes it an AL.

Sunday 25th February – Hoppits Hill.

Saturday 16th March – Flower Scar, English championship race. Entries open. SiEntries.

Sunday 24th March – Edale Skyline. Entries open on 1st February.

Friday 5th April – Bruce’s Crown.

Saturday 6th April – Lad’s Leap, English championship race. Entries open.

Saturday 25th May – Jura. Entries open.

JimP

Saturday 27th January, 2024

Categories: Carshare